27 September 2015

Plebiscite in the Parliament of Catalonia


President Artur Mas had proposed the elections as a plebiscite on independence. Participation was 74.9% of the census, and the results gave the absolute majority to pro-independence candidates with 47.8% of the votes. Specifically, Junts pel Sí (JxSí), the unitary candidacy of Convergència and ERC led by Raül Romeva, Carme Forcadell, Muriel Casals, Artur Mas and Oriol Junqueras, wins 62 seats, and the CUP led by Antonio Baños wins 10. The non-independentist candidates: Ciudadanos (Inés Arrimadas), PSC (Miquel Iceta), Catalunya Sí que es Pot (CSQP) (Lluís Rabell) and PP (Xavier García Albiol) earn 25, 16, 11 and 11 seats, respectively.

Post 130
Search for more cases:

Report this case to the European Commission

Blatant violations of the rule of law like this one are never included in the Rule of Law report that the Commission publishes each year on the rule of law developments in each Member State.

Through this form, you can send an email to the Commission asking them to consider this case in their next report.

Let's fill up the inboxes of the Commissioners to make it more difficult for them to ignore these in the next report.

Denuncia aquest cas davant de la UE!
Enviant un email fent clic aquí