29 October 2016

Mariano Rajoy is sworn in as president of the Spanish government


After the repeat of elections and the failure of the first investiture attempt in September, Mariano Rajoy is invested as president of the Spanish government in the second round with the votes of the PP, thanks to the abstention of the majority of PSOE MPs. Fifteen socialist MPs, including Pedro Sánchez, who has resigned as secretary general of the PSOE following his opposition to facilitating Rajoy’s investiture, and the PSC MPs vote against the investiture. Other groups voting against it include Podemos, ERC, PDeCAT, PNV, Bildu and Compromís.

Post 166
Search for more cases:

Report this case to the European Commission

Blatant violations of the rule of law like this one are never included in the Rule of Law report that the Commission publishes each year on the rule of law developments in each Member State.

Through this form, you can send an email to the Commission asking them to consider this case in their next report.

Let's fill up the inboxes of the Commissioners to make it more difficult for them to ignore these in the next report.

Denuncia aquest cas davant de la UE!
Enviant un email fent clic aquí